“Annual Ripped Off Show” at EBSQ

If you haven’t seen EBSQ’s “Annual Ripped Off” shows, you are really missing a fun, collaborative art event that has been an event for 10 years running, since 2000. Basically it’s an opportunity to rip-off a fellow EBSQ artist, who’s work you admire (that is WITH their permission!). I will be posting blogs about this throughout the entire month.

Whether you are a participating artist or just browsing the art…you are in for a treat! Now I am not just saying this because “yours truly” has some artwork entered in this show, that is true, yes, but as this show fills out with artwork through the month of July, you are going to want to check out each and every piece.

WHO: This show is hosted by my favorite online art community “EBSQ.”

WHAT:  “10th ANNUAL RIPPED OFF” show “PROSPECTUS” (Rules and guidelines)

=================

My first entry I will be blogging about today is a piece called “E-MOTO”

E-MOTO

I had admired Torrie Smiley’s emu painting. I decided to do a rip of her “Big Bird.” At first I was thinking about a mixed media collage. Then I did a drawing on watercolor paper I was going to use for color references and in the end that made me go with a painting using oil pastels, acrylics and mixed media and I was happy with how that turned out.

I wanted to incorporate Torrie’s love of bright colors that she uses in a lot of her artwork, into that funny little emu face. Reds, oranges and purples…oil pastels, acrylic, and mixed media on Ampersand board.

Torrie Smiley's "Big Bird"

============================

Don’t forget to check out my various “Featured Artists”

2 thoughts on ““Annual Ripped Off Show” at EBSQ

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

