Holiday Art-Retailers charging more for air space…(-:

and how can I make this work for me as an artist?  I’m not talking about radio, T.V. or that type of air space. I’m talking about buying a bag of pretzels…bag looks the same size, price is the same, but the actual amount of goodies is less, like anywhere from 15% to 25% less. I’ve been working on a way to get away with this with my art and I think I have come up with a pretty good idea. Imagine the two artworks below are both 2.5″ x 3.5.” If I sell prints imagine the ink I will save!  Of course if things get too bad I’ll have to cut down on quality of paper not size because otherwise it wouldn’t be an ACEO. These are just suggestions for artists to make more money with less or cheaper materials. I’ll let you know how this works out…ho, ho, ho.

The expensive route: Original artwork, quality Prismacolor pencils, inks, art markers, and sturdy bristol paper. 2-3 hours minimum to create. Mostly self satisfying work, not really lucrative…(-:

"Snow Queen" Original

The cheap route: cheap printer, very little effort on my part, less amount of ink, cheaper paper, and more blank/air space.

Print-not for sale

So let’s recap. I read an article that says:

  • A tuna companies tuna now comes in 5-ounce cans, as opposed to the traditional 6-ounce containers
  • Some well know chip makers reduced the quantity of chips in their bags by 20 percent
  • An orange juice brand recently dropped their orange juice carton size from 64 to 59 ounces
  • Name brand saltine and graham crackers have new packaging with 15 percent fewer crackers

Despite all of these examples, I read that we don’t really think this is a case of manufacturers trying to make a fast buck on the consumer.

Historically, manufacturers have been raising and lowering package sizes in order to keep from raising prices for a long, long time. As far back as the early 1900’s.

Well, I’ll just have to buy two bags of pretzels for .99 cents each to get the satisfaction I used to get in one bag. One bag of pretzels is just a tease now, a full bag is a thing of the past. In fact a full bag may be a trend we never see again.

I wonder when they will start charging us for the air space in the bag…(-:

(The original “Snow Queen” ACEO and other holiday art is for sale on Ebay (click HERE).

You can read these excerpts and more here “Inflation, It’s hiding in smaller packages.”

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

