Review: Oil pencils – Faber Castell and Walnut Hollow

I guess this could really be considered a review of oil vs. wax pencils as well. Before I get into my review on my Faber Castell and Walnut Hollow colored oil pencils, here is a little artwork I did with them.

00100010 01010100 01101000 01100101 00100000 01000011 01101100 01101111 01110101 01100100 00101100 00100000 01000010 01100101 01100110 01101111 01110010 01100101 00100000 01001001 01101110 01110100 01100101 01110010 01101110 01100101 01110100 00100010

(That’s Binary code for the title of my ACEO art card, “The Cloud, Before Internet”)

“The Cloud, Before Internet

I’ve been on a “buying new art supplies” binge lately. I’ve been printing 40% off coupons for Hobby Lobby, and Micheals arts and craft stores like they were candy.

Anyway, some of the items I bought were some new Faber Castell oil pencils. I already had some old Walnut Hollow brand oil pencils tucked away in the back of one of my art supply drawers, so I dug those out too.

With my Walnut Hollows and my new Faber Castells I probably only had about 12 colors and I wanted to use only the oil based and none of the wax based. This is the first time in a long time I have used oil pencils so I’ll have to do a few more projects to have a fair comparison.

The little fairy above was done with the oil pencils on Bristol paper. The background is done with Prismacolor art markers. Both brands of pencil seem to have a nice creamy lay down which is one of the main requirements for me, but the Walnut Hollow may have a little bit creamier feel. That might be because they don’t have a brand new shiny point on them. I think the Faber Castell’s have a wider variety. and more up to date colors. The color pigment in the oil based pencils in general, seemed  to saturate and fill in the interstitial spaces on the paper with fewer layers than it takes with the waxed ones. I have gotten used to the many layers that have to be laid down with wax pencils to get a smooth, solid, glossy finish, which is what I’m going for most of the time.

Of course one of the things I like the most is the fact that they have no dulling wax bloom, like wax pencils.

Like I said, I’m going to have to do a few more artworks before I can really decide what type of pencil I like better. I have about 175-200 Prismacolor pencils that I have used for the last few years, so I am definitely in my comfort zone with those.

I’ll keep you posted as I try out different art products…

10 thoughts on “Review: Oil pencils – Faber Castell and Walnut Hollow

Add yours

  1. Madame Sherry Very Nice interpretation of cutting edge of technology in an art form. i’m excited to she your next work, your lock and loaded with paint materials. Cheers Nonoy Manga

  2. Thanks for sharing your comments on Faber-Castell’s color pencils. I am curious which brand of pencils you were using, was it our Professional Grade- Polychromos, or our Aspiring artist Grade- Art GRIP? The colors are indexed so both have the same pigment color (actually all our pigments are indexed on the barrel so you know the color number if you want to mix media, like Watercolor pencils or mix our PITT artist brush or Big Brush India ink pens come in the same exact hue as the Color pencil). The fairy is very sweet- if you want to see some other characters you can see some if you visit http://www.designmemorycraft.com and click on blog.
    Sincerely, Tonya at Faber-Castell.

    1. Thanks for the reply Tanya. I used the Faber Castell Art Grip. I didn’t realize they were not professional grade like Polychromos. They are both oil based, right? What is the difference? Will the Polychromos give me a richer, creamier lay down? I’ve heard good things about the Polychromos and will have to give those a try.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

