My Creative Process_The Grand Blog Tour

I was invited on this grand blog tour by Amanda Makepeace a visual artist inspired by nature, myth and fantasy.  This a tour of blogs by writers, artists and other wonderful creatives.

New Work    "Nebula 9" by Skey 2014
New Work “Nebula 9”

What are you working on?

It’s more like what am I not working on? I’ve bought several journals with the intention of doing something creative with those but was never inspired to start until I got my little free one this month for Mother’s Day. Maybe it’s the writing part that intimidated me but I started doodling on the first page with the pen that came with it then some markers, paints, etc. and before you know it the pages were becoming a little work of art, and then I did some more.

Another project I just started a few months ago is having a monthly theme to go along with whatever that month’s Nibblefest (NFAC) art theme is going to be. I found I was doing two, three, or four artworks trying to decide which one to put in the auction that starts at .99 cents and runs the 20th through the 27th of each month. It’s a tough decision…(-:

Paintings, collage and other mixed media projects are always going on.

New Work "Disruption of the Space-Time Continuum"
New Work “Disruption of the Space-Time Continuum”

How does your work differ from others of it’s genre?

Well of course most artist like to think their work is different from others. In this day and age of internet we have discovered there are many artists out there and a lot of them doing fantastic work and being very successful. I think I have definitely discovered my own quirky style and I try to put a different spin on my art, mainly with a wry sense of humor. I’ve had people say “I know that’s your art as soon as I see it” and that tells me it must be unique in some way.

I’d say my art might have you mulling over the sometimes odd and seemingly insignificant things in life, not necessarily “world peace.”

"Oceana, Caretaker of the Sea"  by Skey
“Oceana, Caretaker of the Sea” by Skey

Why do you write/create what you do?

My dad was a scientist/engineer and we traveled and lived throughout a lot of the US. I always admired my dad’s technical ink drawings of rockets and robots he did for us kids that were done with compass, T-squares and rulers.

In our many travels we did a lot of camping, saw many sites and collected lots of different things from nature such as fossils, rocks, gems, geodes, etc.  Reading, science and nature fueled my imagination and I incorporated the wonders of the world around me with the ones inside my head. I still do, and these days my imagination might be in the clouds, but I am very earthy and grounded as a person.

I received a couple of Sculpture/Ceramic scholarships in college and pretty much called myself a 3-dimensional artist for a lot of years but in more recent years I started focusing on drawing, painting and mixed media.

"Tarzan's Jane" by Skey 2014
“Tarzan’s Jane” by Skey 2014

How does your writing/creative process work?

Always, I’m trying to make the fantasies and ideas in my head a reality in my physical world in the form of art. My art is fluid and flexible and frequently starts out as one thing and changes into something else kind of like switching between dimensions. Maybe when I’m creating I’m in the 5th.  Everything in and out of the world can be art. I try to find the “funny” in everything I do and am glad that like a child I can still be astounded almost every day visually and intellectually.

Sherry Key a.k.a. Skey

+++

I’ve asked edgy, bright and colorful artist Laura Barbosa (The Heart of Art Blog) to keep the Grand Blog Tour going. Be on the look out for her posts on June 9th.

I ran out of time to ask any other creatives to join the tour but Laura assures me she has three very talented bloggers to carry on.

 

11 thoughts on “My Creative Process_The Grand Blog Tour

Add yours

  1. Thank you for the wonderful compliment Laura…can’t wait to get to know a little bit more about your creative process as well next Monday. Glad you are joining us on the tour…(-:

    1. Yes, would have loved for you to join in but I definitely understand. I barely squeezed it in myself. I feel like I know quite a bit about your process from following your blog and the things you have shared on different posts.

      Good idea!! Were you suggesting “Illustrate World Peace” or is that already a challenge going on somewhere?

      1. It’s my challenge to you though there may be such a challenge going on somewhere in the world, who knows! Tell you what – I’ll take up the challenge as well but there are no time constraints and no pressure. The last thing we need is pressure. Then we can re-blog each others’ ensuing posts.

      2. Hmmm…sounds good to me, I’ll take you up on that challenge and raise you one…just kidding, about the raise you one. I especially like the no pressure part.

        I will definitely make a start on that soon though. “Illustrate World Peace” sounds like a plan.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

