Art: A newbie’s first experience at Dallas A-Kon 25 Anime Convention

I’ve got plenty of my own art to blog about but with a graduation to attend on Friday and going to my very first but not last A-Kon, I’m going to post about the latter today. Celebrating it’s 25th birthday at the Hilton Anatole, Dallas has the longest running A-Kon convention in the nation.

Being my first experience, it was like building myself a road map for next year. Came away with too few photos because there was something to dazzle my eyes almost every step of the way. People of every shape, size and height were either covered up and costumed to the hilt or practically wearing their birthday suits for costumage.

Met some reps from Sweet Dolls, X-treme Dolls, etc. and probably spent an hour in there looking at BJD dolls, the many wigs, and accessories. Unfortunately I missed the workshop where I could have made a miniature one of those. Sigh, maybe next year.

 

Some lovely costumed characters over at the "Artist Alley."

Some lovely costumed characters over at the “Artist Alley.”

Dr. Who, Star Wars, Pokeman, Steampunk, Lego Man, Thor and Loki, Ironman, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, and too many other movie, cartoon and anime characters to mention. I recognized some of the characters from watching them on television and at the movies with my son when he was growing up.

Lego Man and friends.

Lego Man and friends.

I have more photos to post that my son Lance and our friend Lacy of LC Photography took but I haven’t gotten a copy yet. One photo I was kicking myself for that I didn’t take was a fantastic robotic Dalek scooting around the hallways but my son got a great photo of him that he will send me later. There were lot’s of the 11th Doctor Who, Matt Smith and all the other Doctors mulling around the halls. I think my friend Lacy got a good one of one of them.

One of the many workshops available that I did get to was “How to build Steampunk” presented by Airship Captain Whittaker and some of his crew of the Airship Isabella.  If you look at their costumes you wouldn’t imagine that much of it is made out of common, inexpensive household items such as colanders, candlesticks, foam and aluminum from places like Home Depot, the grocery store,  etc. and of course lots of leather.

Captain Whittaker and some of his crew from Airship Isabella.

Captain Whittaker and some of his crew from Airship Isabella.

If you are interested in Steampunk you really should check out their website at The Airship Isabella where there are links to the blog and Facebook page as well.

The class was funny, entertaining and educational and I got to find out what their mantra “Oh Shiny” means. An insider saying, and I’m not saying cause you just have to make one of their shows or workshops to find out.

At the booth.

At the booth.

Captain Whittaker being a former firefighter and his crew were all about safety first and were willing to answer any questions and believe me there were many.

I went to find their goody filled booth in Artist Alley and I told them that during class I wasn’t close enough to take any photos and they jumped out from behind the booth and started posing for me…did I say friendly and fabulous?!

Vampire Kit at Airship Isabella booth.

Vampire Kit at Airship Isabella booth.

I just had a premonition and I think I see more Steampunk related drawings, paintings and mixed media in my future. It must be that “Mandrake Cordial” I bought at the booth. It is supposed to elevate spirits and enhance ocular aesthetic detection after all.

I had fully intended to do some networking, pass out business cards and some of my art badges but when I got there I decided to just soak it all in this first time.

I was only was there from 9:00 to 7:00 on Saturday which was really just a few minutes in “anime convention time.”  Hope to make at least two days next year.

Star Wars Stormship Trooper and Business Stormship Trooper

Star Wars Stormship Trooper and Business Stormship Trooper

Have a great week and I’ll close with recommending Carnival Epsilon’s Booster Fuel #7.  A revitalizing energy drink that is also reported to cure torpidity.

Sherry…(-:

P.S. all photos and artwork on this blog are copyrighted by Sherry Key a.k.a. Skey unless otherwise stated.

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Art: A newbie’s first experience at Dallas A-Kon 25 Anime Convention

Leave a Reply

