Art: Artist Mia Mikala-talks about influences on her artwork…

Art: Mia Mikala “Influences on her artwork.”

Apparently I still suck at doing a re-blog. I did a Share instead of a re-blog on this post the other day so wanted to do it right this time…(-:

MIA MAKILA - ART & BLOG (Official Website)

DSC02489Studying art in bed, 2011 (my favorite thing to do and my favorite place to do it)

I have been looking back at my own private ‘art history’ as an artist, to see what my artistic voice has been throughout my career. I can see how my art has been influenced by my own life and the things I’ve gone through; pain, sorrow, love, sensuality, illnesses, anxiety, rage, trauma, spirituality and dreams. But I can also detect traces of other artists that has meant a lot to me and my creativity. These artists and their work have opened up my mind – inspired me try new things, to see new possibilities in my creativity and the way I choose to express myself through my paintings, drawings and digital art. Since I am self-taught, I learn by studying other artists and art history.

I remember my first real ‘art crush’ – that type…

View original post 374 more words

Leave a Reply

